Food: Gluten Free

For the past year or so I have been on a Gluten Free Food Path – because that is what my tummy tells me I should be doing. Quite frankly it was a little bit sick (literally) of eating yummy wheat and gluten filled edibles and feeling awful after!

So along with checking labels at the supermarket and questioning waiters at restaurants I have been searching the internet for recipes and sites to make this path a bit more easier.  I must say that it has been fairly easy as I love to cook and when you buy a lot of fresh fruit, veggies and meats it is relatively pain free to stay Gluten Free.  Thankfully most supermarkets carry a good range of Gluten Free goodies such as pastas, breads and flours to supplement in your cooking and there are a lot of brands that are labeled Gluten Free.

But eating out can sometimes be a nightmare (a very hungry one) especially in food courts at lunch when so many options are bread or pasta.  Along with drinks and nibbles when pastry seems to be the only choice available.  Now I must admit that I am Gluten Intolerant and not a Celiac, which would be a whole different kettle of fish.  Luckily I can stomach a tiny amount of Gluten in sauces etc but I am getting more sensitive so I suppose only time will tell.

Gluten Free food can take a little bit a getting used to as some things have have a bit of a different taste and texture than your used too; a bit more “cakey” I suppose but you get used to it very quickly.  Plus the recipes available online offer you such wonderful and vast options that your new way of life feels easier all the time.

Anyway, I want to let you in on a few Gluten Free sites that I frequent who offer wonderful advice and even better recipes.  Feel free to let me know about your favourite sites.  Enjoy.

Just xx

